Registering Your Device

 

The registration process identifies you as a valid user on the GO!NotifyLink Enterprise Server and allows you to begin using GO!NotifyLink to synchronize the data between your device and the server.  Registering the device consists of:

•      Entering your Email Address and an Authentication Password

•      Choosing a Network Setting appropriate for your device.

•      Performing an initial PIM synchronization. 

 

 

The Authentication Password... is a password generated from the GO!NotifyLink Enterprise Server indentifying you as an authorized GO!NotifyLink user.  You are required to enter the Authentication Password only when registering the device.  The device stores the password and uses it each time it Consult your GO!NotifyLink administrator for this password. You can also find your authentication password on the GO!NotifyLink Client Web.  From the Web, choose General > Device

 

Changing the Authentication Password.  Before you register your device, you may wish to set your authentication password to something other than the default.  It is not necessary, but some administrators may direct you to change the password as an additional security measure.  See the instructions for changing your authentication password below.

 

To Register:

 

Once the GO!NotifyLink installation is complete, you can create and register your user account. 
Email and PIM synchronization will not begin until you are registered.

 

 

Help 2The registration screens have User Assistance  
 Select Show Help from the menu to display help text.

 Watch the Video

 

          

 

If the Registration screen is not already displayed, select the GO!NotifySync icon from your BlackBerry menu.  It may be located in the Downloads or Applications folder.

 

GO!NotifyLink Icon

 

 

Step 1:

Enter your Email Address and Authentication Password.

Email Address – Your address on the groupware server.

Authentication Password – A password generated from the GO!NotifyLink Enterprise Server indentifying you as an authorized GO!NotifyLink user.  Consult your GO!NotifyLink administrator for this password.

 

Step 2:

The Network Setting field allows you to choose what GO!NotifyLink uses when opening network connections.   The default is Auto Detect, which chooses an appropriate network setting based on available services.  Accept Auto Detect and prioritize the connection types from the Advanced… screen, or select your Preferred Network type.  See Advanced Network Settings.

 

Hint:  If you intend to use Direct Push synchronization, you must use TCP network provisioning. 

 

 

 

Step 3:

Under PIM Load, select the types of PIM items (Calendar, Contacts, Tasks) to synchronize. Choose whether you wish to:

•      Replace Device Items – Deletes items currently on the device and replaces them with items synchronized from the server.

•      Merge Items* – Merges the items that currently exist on the device and server together in both locations.

•      Load without Merging* – Loads items from the server onto the device without sending existing items on the device to the server.

•      Do Not Load – Prevents this item type from synchronizing.

*A note about Merging and Loading:  When items exist on both the server and device, choosing to Merge Items will result in duplicates on both the server and device.  Choosing to Load without Merging will result in duplicates on the device.

 

Select Register from the menu to complete the registration.

 

If you chose to merge or replace any of the PIM items, a dialog appears indicating the affect merging or replacing has on existing data.

Before continuing, you may wish to backup important items that may be lost in this process.

When you are ready to proceed, select Yes.

 

 

You will see a security prompt which asks you to give the GO!NotifyLink application permission to run.

With any GO!NotifyLink related security prompt, do the following:

1.  Check the box titled, Do not ask again.

2.  Select the Allow button.

Registration will fail if you deny this connection.
See Authentication Failure.

 

 

You will see the device Inbox once the registration is completed.

 

Check the top-left corner to verify that the correct time and date are showing.

 

The Inbox will populate as the device completes its first synchronization cycle.

 

You are now registered with GO!NotifyLink.

 

 

 

More:

Advanced Network Settings

Changing Your Authentication Password

Authentication Failure

Secure Your Device with SSL